Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | 30 Acts of Aloha | Home RSS

LHS wrestlers win state championships

March 5, 2020

LAHAINA - The Lahainaluna High School wrestling team closed out the 2019-20 season with a thrilling finish at the Texaco-HHSAA State Wrestling Championships at the Neal Blaisdell Center in Honolulu on Feb. 21-22.

The Lady Lunas fell just 6.5 points down from gold medalists Kamehameha Kapalama in the final team standings, 169 to 161.5; while the boys finished in sixth place behind the state titlists (also from Kamehameha Kapalama).

Seniors Nanea Estrella and Shannon Jaramillo led the charge for the girls. Estrella, competing at 132 pounds, won her fourth state gold medal to become only the second Maui Interscholastic League wrestler - Lady Luna Lalelei Mataafa was the first - to accomplish the remarkable feat, while Jaramillo continued the golden tradition of her 'ohana with her second state championship at 184.

Article Photos

Nanea Estrella, competing at 132 pounds, won her fourth state gold medal.

Other state placers included Naiomi Kulukulualani-Sales in fourth place at 97, Kivah Caballero in fifth at 112, Alicia Frank with a silver medal at 117, Lydia Dudoit in fourth at 122, and Fayannie Rosario fourth place at 155.

On the boys' side of the mat, Cael Yasutake won a silver medal at 113 pounds, Kanoa Lanoza won silver at 126, Dawson Nolasco finished fifth at 132, Jesse "Fatty" Dudoit came in fourth at 145 and Matai Mataafa placed fourth at 195 pounds.

Lahainaluna head coach Todd Hayase praised the entire team, the coaching staff and supporting cast of family and friends in saying, "It's always nice to be in contention for a state title, as not many teams experience that year after year. It adds another level of pressure and stress to everyone, especially the younger wrestlers. We definitely left some wins and higher placings on the mat, but we are still very proud of their effort, commitment and hard work.

"We salute all the seniors and their accomplishments in the Lahainaluna wrestling program, including Nanea Estrella, Shannon Jaramillo, Fatty Dudoit, Enoka Phillips, Kaeo Pedroza-Kanemitsu, Jojo Fraser, Trenton Nguyen and Abigail Sandi."



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web